Aside

Just a quick update. Today my story “A Song for the Season” went live on the Cast of Wonders site. They’re a YA SF/F podcast based out of the UK. This is the first time I’ve heard one of my stories read by someone other than me. A cool, if a little weird, experience. The narrator, Kate Baker, did an excellent job. I’m very happy with the results.

On the other hand, Struck By ChocolateĀ came back from Avon Impulse with a big fat rejection letter. Or, rather, a very tiny form rejection letter. Which is pretty much what I expected, but hope does spring eternal. Now the new and improved edition will go back to the trunk.

I’m working on re-imagining Blood Berries into a modern setting, and feel better about the whole project already. Things are definitely changing in the plot arena, and the characters. Well, a lot of things, actually. We’ll see. I’m torn between starting it up, or doing revisions on Toulouse.

Other than tinkering with a new outline, and some short story revisions, I’ve been very lax in the writing department for the last week or so. House things have taken precedence. Cleaning out a couple closets, starting a crochet rag rug with Caleb, getting our office at least partially set up. I’m writing this from a freshly painted turquoise room, atop a big, shiny black table, looking out a window to the tops of neighborhood trees. A marked improvement from my previous desk, which was tucked in the corner of the dining room, with a window that looked at a fence.

Well, I think that covers it. Go out and enjoy spring, if you’re that kind of person. Otherwise, hunker down with the internets next to me, and we’ll share some tea and biscuits.

Photo used under creative commons license from Brandon Christopher Warren

The Progress of Things

Leave a comment